Also known as the Pangkor arrangement, the Pangkor Treaty of 1874 was signed between the British and the Sultan of Perak, which gave the British the green signal to have control over the Malay rulers and thereby strengthen the British imperialism in the islands of Malaya. Currently, Perak is one of the states of Malaysia and Pangkor is one of the islands of Perak.

Leave a Reply