Anguilla, an island located in the Caribbean was first colonised by English settlers from Saint Kitts in 1650. In 1967, it was called Saint Christopher-Nevis-Anguilla, against the wishes of the locals. There were two revolutions to have independence from Saint Kitts and Nevis and just be a British colony. In 1980, the island was allowed to secede and became a separate British overseas territory.

Leave a Reply