In 1924, Wladyslaw Reymont won the 1924 Nobel Prize for Literature for his four-volume novel, Chlopi (The Peasants). The win was indeed a sweet one as he won over Thomas Mann, G.B. Shaw, and Thomas Hardy. Born Wladyslaw Rejment, he changed his surname to Reymont in order to protect from potential trouble from the Russian part of Poland. He passed away a year after he had won the Nobel Prize.

Leave a Reply