Tasmania, one of the six states of Australia was first sighted by the Dutch explorer Abel Tasman in 1642. The place was initially named as Anthony Van Diemen’s Land, after the Dutch East Indies colonial governor responsible for the voyage’s commission, Anthony van Dieman. In 1856, the name was officially reverted to Tasmania and is separated by Bass Strait to the Australian mainland. 

Leave a Reply