The Primeira Liga, Portugal’s highest competition in football was founded in the year 1934. In the first eleven years of the competition, there were four teams that won the top prize – Porto, Benefica, Sporting CP and Belenenses. Porto, Benefica and Sporting CP have dominated the league over the years until Boavista broke the spell when they won the league in 2000-01 season. In more than 80 years, only five teams have won the competition and all the teams are either from Porto or Lisbon. 

Leave a Reply