In 1964, the U.S. Congress recognized bourbon as a “distinctive product of the United States.” This American corn whiskey gets its name from Bourbon County, Kentucky since 1846. The name ‘Bourbon’ has a French connection, because of closed ties between Americans and the then French royal family, especially Louis XVI, who hailed from the house of Bourbon. Louis XVI provided indispensible support during America’s war of independence and hence the name Bourbon found its way in the United States. 

Leave a Reply