The state of Karnataka was formed after the unification of Kannada speaking regions in South of India. In 1956, Mysore state was merged with the Kannada-speaking regions of Bombay, Madras and also from the principality of Hyderabad. The name of the new state ‘Mysore’ was retained until 1973, when the name of the state was changed to ‘Karnataka’. On November 1st, each year, Kannada Rajyotsava is celebrated and it is a state festival and a state holiday. 

Leave a Reply