The Arabic name of Morocco, ‘al-Magrib al-Aqsa’ translates to “the extreme west” as it suggests Morocco to be the westernmost country in the Arab world. From 1912 to 1956, Morocco was divided into French and Spanish zones. There are just two Spanish controlled areas which remains till  date – Ceuta and Melilla. The capital city Rabat was chosen by the French in 1913 because Morocco had no fixed capital at the time. 

Leave a Reply