Switzerland celebrates its national day each year on August 1. This date signifies the Federal Charter of 1291 when three cantons – Schwyz, Uri and Nidwalden swore the oath of forming a confederation in Rütli. Since 1889, the Swiss Confederacy has recognised this date and from 1994, August 1 is an official holiday throughout Switzerland.  

Leave a Reply